Types of Houses in Astrology


Last updated on January 29th, 2020 at 10:12 am

The 12 houses are classified under different categories and carry special meaning accordingly. Let us discover in a very quick way:

Dharma Trikona – Triangle of Righteousness – 1st, 5th, and 9th houses

Dharma is our primary evolutionary goal and usually comes after going through other stages of soul development.

Following soul purpose righteously means to be living a Dharmic life. Dharma Trikona houses are also considered as the primary houses for luck, as luck is the good karma earned by following the ultimate mission and Dharma.

Planetary placement and relationship in the birth chart with these houses can give a clue about souls’ spiritual development and past life good karma and good luck in this life from good deeds of the past.

The 9th house can indicate also the fate or direction of a current lifetime, especially when forming a Dharma-Karmadhipati Yoga, which is getting Karma connected with Dharma, or 10th house with 9th house.

Artha Trikona – Triangle of Wealth – 2nd, 6th, and 10th houses

These houses reflect wealth and anything material which should be used in order to progress in a Dharmic way, in order to succeed and create good luck.

Probably most of us recognize the second house, which is the main house for wealth, family and assets.

The sixth house reflects our ability to put effort and overcome obstacles in order to prove our motivation to succeed.

Whereas the 10th house signifies the name and fame natives can achieve on the material plane. It can also be spiritual fame but on the material level.

Kama Trikona – Triangle of Desires – 3rd, 7th, and 11th houses

The Kama houses reflect our desires and the houses signify our ability to fulfill them.

The Third house stands for the courage that needs to be applied for taking risks and moving forward. It is the house of ambitions and motivation and signified by Mars – straight through the wall!

The seventh house reflects our desire to create partnerships, both personal and business. It also shows our desire to love and be loved. It is the secondary motivating power besides the significations of the 3rd house.

The eleventh house stands for the fulfillment of all desires.

Moksha Trikona – Triangle of Transcendence – 4th, 8th, and 12th houses

These are important houses for spiritual development and final salvation. The Harmonious connection between these houses can indicate if a person will be able to achieve a higher spiritual level during the current lifetime.

The fourth house is the mother of all nurturing and caring energy in this world. This is the ultimate love, that makes all want to connect and unify – it is also represented by Moon for the very same reason. Whereas the 8th house is very deep and transformative and can be indeed very difficult if one refuses to act in a Dharmic way.

This house is the house of hidden matters and is able to transform the soul on or another way to bring a soul closer to the next level. The 12th house stands for complete detachment from material and ego. This does not mean a person needs to give up anything they have, but they need to readjust their intentions and goals.

Remember, the primary goal is to live in a righteous/Dharmic way and apply all you have in order to help you and other souls to achieve that. The Material is meant to be used, not humans.

Now we have finished grouping houses through the four aims of life – now let’s discover additional house groups:

Kendra Bhava – Quadrangular Houses- 1st, 4th, 7th, and 10th houses

These are the angular houses and represent geometric shape rectangle. This house group is very important, as any planet placed these houses from the house considered, becomes beneficial.

This house group forms a very strong universal energy, which is from Vishnu. These houses are also called the Vishnusthans. Any beneficial connection between these houses and Trine houses creates a strong Raj Yoga.

Trikona Bhava – Triangular Houses – 1st, 5th, and 9th houses

The angular(angel) houses carry also the significance of Dharma and luck, as discussed above.

These houses represent the luck of the native and any beneficial connection between these houses and planets in a horoscope indicates past life deeds and the fortune of present and the future.

The Trikona houses are also known as Lakshmisthans and named after the Goddess of abundance and wealth Lakshmi. For this very reason, these houses are secondary houses of wealth.

NB! If any planet owns a Kendra and Trikona house at the same time in a birth chart, becomes a very auspicious Yogakaraka, even when it is a natural Malefic.

Dusthana Bhava – Challenging Houses – 3rd, 6th, 8th, and 12th Houses

Upachay Bhava – Growth Houses – 3rd, 6th, 10th, and 11th houses

Apachay Bhava – Decreasing Houses – 1st, 2nd, 4th, 7th, and 8th houses

Maraka Bhava – Damage Inflicting Houses – 2nd and 7th houses

If you find the content useful and interesting and have the means, please support it. My promise is that the content and astronomical calculators will always be free for you on this site.

Classical Sources Used: BPHS, Saravali, Brihat Jataka, Lal Kitab, Yavan Jataka. References to The Last Word of God are included not to mix Sunnah Kitab or Quran with worldly science, but to offer the best cure for worldly issues. Always know that this science and the latest religious revelations are separated from each other for more than 5000 years. If you were to evolve from old Vedic science and adopt the latest religious teaching, the leap is worth more than 5000 years of human evolution. I am currently conducting theological updates on all articles, hence some errors may be there. All credit for increased wisdom goes to the best & brightest man who ever walked on Earth who is no other than the Greatest Blessing For Humanity & Seal of Prophets Muhammad ﷺ, and people who kindly taught me the Word of God. All glory to God Almighty.

Please share your thoughts in the comments and share them with your friends.

About the author

Martin Boldovski

All the articles are based on the information given by Ancient Sages as seen from various classical sources which are addressed to Vedic enthusiasts. My intention is to deliver this knowledge in the most original form possible, i.e free of blasphemy, with elaborated explanations which are supported by actual observations to help Vedic enthusiasts get rid of confusion and introduce the right guidance via The Last Word to get closer to God and attain inner bliss.



Join Our Free Newsletter

Discover More Articles