Dharma Trikona ⋆ the 1st, 5th, and 9th houses in Vedic Astrology


Last updated on January 30th, 2020 at 02:14 pm

The Spiritual Triangle

The spiritual triangle (Dharma Trikona) consists of aspects of the soul’s mission, accumulated merit, and the manifestation of past karma.

These three aspects are actually represented by the houses of 1st, 5th and 9th in astrology which ultimately form a triangular shape and are thus named Trikonas or Angular Houses.

Planetary placement with Trine to each other is very auspicious due to the harmonious balance of the triangle supplies.

These are the houses that reveal the potential of spiritual enlightenment and they are the main supporters of the whole chart, even for wealth as the 11th house from itself is the 9th house of luck – success and gains through good deeds are mostly backed by luck and accumulated merit from past births.

According to that, when the 9th house or its lord is participating in the Dhana Yogas or Wealth Combinations, it can indicate ripe fruits that are ready to enjoy in the present.

It is always wise to continue to invest these blessings in a Dharmic way in order to advance spiritually even further by applying the earnings to the greater purpose by combining these blessings with the 5th house significations and thus increase the fortune.

That is why any connection to Trine houses and their lords is highly beneficial and if strong enough, they are capable of producing the great effects of kingly Raja Yogas.

Additionally, when Trikonas make a connection with Kendra houses, the square houses, they produce the same kingly yoga as the square is the foundation of triangular walls when taking the symbolic pyramid architecture into the consideration.

Here we actually uncovered the spiritual meaning of pyramids which were used all over the world for sacred constructions in all cultures and religions. A planet ruling a Dharma Trikona and Kendra house simultaneously is called a yogakaraka planet for this very powerful reason.

In the birth chart, look for the 9th lord, yogakaraka planet, Jupiter, their strength and connection to other houses as they can indicate a lot of luck to the corresponding area on life.

As Jupiter is the natural lord of the 9th house, its placement and aspect will improve the significations of the houses and yogas it is participating in. The generic reason why a strong 9th Dharmic house is capable of producing immense luck, gains and wealth is simply the blessing of having a pious aim and, purpose and goal.

The positive placement of Dharma Trikona houses and their lords are capable of giving abundant divine grace to the native along with divine guidance through the good and rough times making the path much smoother. It also indicates that the native is blessed (by God) with righteousness or Dharma.

The spiritual meaning of Dharma Trikona houses

Wealth is represented by the Goddess Lakshmi – from Lakshya, Sanskrit word, which means aim or goal.

Therefore we can see that the wealth comes only to those who are having fruitful and good goals/aims which results in the strong 9th house. Its connection to other houses is able to provide even more results.

It is not a coincidence that from Goddess Lakshmi, the Trikona houses are also known as Lakshmisthanas, which signify luck and prosperity whereas the Kendra houses are named Vishnusthanas, after Lord Vishnu, the preserver of the universe.

Lakshmi and Vishnu are a wife and husband to each other and their symbolic connection in the birth chart is highly desirable and that is why the union of Trikona and Kendra house produces a special Raja Yoga and the planet ruling both houses simultaneously becomes a very auspicious Yogakaraka planet.

Classical Sources Used: BPHS, Saravali, Brihat Jataka, Lal Kitab, Yavan Jataka. References to The Last Word of God are included not to mix Sunnah Kitab or Quran with worldly science, but to offer the best cure for worldly issues. Always know that this science and the latest religious revelations are separated from each other for more than 5000 years. If you were to evolve from old Vedic science and adopt the latest religious teaching, the leap is worth more than 5000 years of human evolution. I am currently conducting theological updates on all articles, hence some errors may be there. All credit for increased wisdom goes to the best & brightest man who ever walked on Earth who is no other than the Greatest Blessing For Humanity & Seal of Prophets Muhammad ﷺ, and people who kindly taught me the Word of God. All glory to God Almighty.

Please share your thoughts in the comments and share them with your friends. I will close the website due to my own decision in upcoming months - thanks for everyone who supported.

About the author

Martin Boldovski

All the articles are based on the information given by Ancient Sages as seen from various classical sources which are addressed to Vedic enthusiasts. My intention is to deliver this knowledge in the most original form possible, i.e free of blasphemy, with elaborated explanations which are supported by actual observations to help Vedic enthusiasts get rid of confusion and introduce the right guidance via The Last Word to get closer to God and attain inner bliss.


  • hi. if the natural ruler is used then everyone will have same ruling planets no? and thus, one is looking at the placement of planet and aspects for differences…but if the ruler of the sign (rashi) found in a house at the time of birth is used then the overall complexity is either increased or decreased? meaning, does one still need to look the the planet and it’s aspect? this is all very confusing in my thinking, as the complexity seems too much

    • Hello

      Thank you for asking such a complex question.

      Natural rulers are used to study life and its repeating patterns. In the charts of individuals, personal rulerships must be prioritised and then compared to natural significators.

      This is indeed a very complex science and requires a lot of patience and enthusiasm to understand.

      Best wishes

  • Hello, do you know anything about the effects of when sun, moon, and ketu are all in trikona houses? (sun in 5, moon in 9, ketu in 1). Thank you for this very interesting article!


Join Our Free Newsletter

Discover More Articles